My second day in China

I did not sleep very well the first night in Beijing, so instead I slept rather much in the morning. I did not get to the office until about 2. Ningping was going with her husband to sign the lease for the apartment that will be inhabited by my colleagues Tina and Stuart when they arrive in a few days. So to get there we took the subway. Clean and pleasant, very convenient (there is a stop a few hundred meters from where I live). The glass wall separates us from the train until it has stopped and lined up its doors with those in the wall. Then the doors open.



The inside look. The first train we took was not too crowded.



When we changed to line 10, there were more people who wanted to get on.



The apartment that my colleagues will get is very plesant, with a gorgeous view in all directions from the 17th floor. I noticed particularly the beautiful kitchen with a gas stove and also ... a revolving book case, the kind I always wanted. The landlord was able to tell me where he had bought it. While Ningping signed the paperwork, her husband Lejing and I walked to a shopping center. We spotted these two gentlemen on the way, and since I have had a request for photos of this kind of hat, I photographed them.



There was a tea store in the shopping center, where we were invited to taste tea. I bought some rather good tea.



In the basement of the shopping center, there was a large store of the German chain Metro. This was a wonderful place to walk around and look at what they had. I bought laundry detergent, wine, towels, pasta, a tin of crushed tomatoes, muesli, and various other odds and ends, including a fountain pen for 25 yuan (4 dollars!) and four bottles of blue ink for even less.

In the evening, Ningping and Lejing brought me to the Teachers dining hall at Beida. One went up to windows where food in various Chinese regions styles were offered (one style per window). Plus in one of the windows, one could pick out fresh vegetables which they then stir fried with the sauce of one's choice. Everything was amazingly fresh, and I had a good meal for very little expense (6.50 yuan, I think, plus 1.20 for a bottle of water).






The red banderoll reads: "The satisfaction of teachers and students is our highest priority." Why doesn't Yale have banderolls like that?



Ningping and Lejing.



Here is a picture of only Lejing from the subway earlier in the day.



The kitchen were vegetables are stir-fried to order.



Finally, a picture from the West Gate of Peking University, which is its main entrance. The sign above the gate says "Beijing Daxue" and the calligraphy was made by none other than Mao Zedong. A lot of people where there photographing the sign.



Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0