Railroad adventure IIb: Stockholm - Basel

The distance Stockholm - Basel was of course longer than the Gotthardbahn, if rather less scenic, but still a part of my Railroad adventure II. I traveled the distance in only two trains, an X 2000 from Stockholm to Copenhagen, and then a CityNightLine sleeping car Copenhagen - Basel. (Some of the images are from the trip south, some from the trip north.)





Basel SBB station was pleasant.

The night train between Copenhagen and Basel was very comfortable. I had a private second-class compartment, slept like a log, was served breakfast at my seat, and even had a shower on the way back (the shower was broken on the way south).





The train stopped at Padborg on the German-Danish border to change engines. It was nice to be able to take a long walk on the platform along the entire train, which was now quite long with new cars coming from Munich and Amsterdam having been added to over the night. The sleeping cars are in two storeys. My second-class compartment was downstairs. It still was about 2 meters in height.

I loved the little compartment which felt like a great luxury, but was not ridiculously expensive. Hard, if not impossible to fotograph. But I was very comfortable in it.








A great big window through which to look at what passed outside, while one could work inside.



And then the attendant came and made up the bed when I wanted to sleep!

Dirty windows, alas, especially on the train going north, but I got some images.



Crossing the Rhine.









Two pictures from the old bridge over the Lilla Bält, between Fyn and Jutland. One can see the new autobridge over the straits on one of them.




Approaching the Stora Bält sound between Fyn and Själland. This is the bridge for cars, the train goes in a long tunnel under the water. Signs everywhere in the train proclaim that this is the safest stretch of railroad in Denmark. That makes me worry about the rest of the trip, if the railroads there are not as safe.



Roskilde.



The train at the Hovedbangården in Copenhagen.




The bridge over the Sound (Öresund), between Själland and Skåne, or between Denmark and Sweden.



We end where we started: the train that took me from Stockholm to Copenhagen is coming in to the platform in Stockholm. It is strange, but of all the trains I took on these two 26-hour journeys, it was the Swedish leg that was most uncomfortable with hot cars packed full of more or less noisy passengers. I was suprised, for I really like the X2000-trains (the express trains that lean in the curves).


Finally, the last picture is dedicated to one of my dearest friends. He is missed even in Basel.





Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0